|
|
| |
|
jimi |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 2/24/2007 |
|
Posts: 750 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
7:10:11 AM |
IP Logged |
|
| Not being a fanatical real golfer myself, I am often stymied (that´s pun, I believe, lol) by the sheer number of rules surrounding a game of golf. One thing I haven´t been able to figure out is this: Say my opponent hits his ball to the green and it comes to rest a few inches from the hole. Now I play my ball. It lands on the green, hits the other player´s ball and pushes it in the hole. Is that a hole for me or for him? Or do I replay my shot? What´s the rule here? Has this ever really happened? |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
fedexfrt357 |
General Member |
|
United States of America |
| |
| Joined: 2/10/2008 |
|
B-Day: 11/19/1965 (60) |
|
Posts: 416 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
8:28:25 AM |
IP Logged |
|
| edited by: fedexfrt357 on
Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
8:38:00 AM
|
| |
If I am reading it right........
Rule 18. Ball at Rest Moved 18-5. By Another Ball
If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.
:)
So basically, you put his back, and play yours where it stops... |
| |
| |
|
fedexfrt357 Signature |
|
...If it aint broke....fix it til it is...
Working: Castle Hills Golf Club (Real....istic) |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
ronbrug |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 1/10/2004 |
|
B-Day: 12/27/1966 (58) |
|
Posts: 62 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
8:30:52 AM |
IP Logged |
|
You lose the hole and get disqualified,in an matchplay match. In strokeplay you get 2 penalty strokes.
Not realy sure , bin along time when i did one of them |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Eaglphan |
General Member |
|
United States of America |
| |
| Joined: 11/15/2006 |
|
B-Day: 2/16/1957 (68) |
|
Posts: 66 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
8:35:41 AM |
IP Logged |
|
This is the best I could find ;-)
Depends on where the balls where before the fateful shot was struck: were both balls already on the green, or were neither or just one of the balls on the green?
Scenario 1: Neither Ball, or Just one Ball, on the Green This could mean the shot in question was a tee shot, or an approach played into a green, or any other scenario other than when both balls were on the green prior to making the stroke.
For example, your partner hits a tee shot, then you hit yours, and your ball hits your partner's ball in the fairway. Or your partner is on the green, you hit an approach shot, and your ball hits your partner's on the green.
This is covered in Rule 18-5, Ball at Rest Moved by Another Ball. There is no penalty to either player as long as this procedure is followed: The person whose shot struck the ball at rest plays his ball as it lies; the person whose ball was moved returns the ball to its original position.
Failure to replace the ball that was moved to its original spot; or moving the ball that did the striking (rather than playing it as it lies) results in loss of hole in match play or a 2-stroke penalty in stroke play.
Scenario 2: Both Balls on Putting Green "Both balls on putting green" means on the putting green prior to the stroke in question.
The ruling here is covered in Rule 19-5a.
From the green, Player A hits his putt, but the ball strikes the ball of Player B, who was also on the green. In match play there is no penalty. In stroke play, it's a 2-stroke penalty to the player whose ball was in motion when the balls collided.
Repeat: It's not a penalty against the player whose ball was at rest; the penalty is against the player who struck the putt.
The player whose ball was at rest replaces it to its original position; the player whose ball was in motion plays it as it lies. |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Hyno Designs |
General Member |
|
United States of America |
| |
| Joined: 10/24/2004 |
|
B-Day: 10/30/1976 (49) |
|
Posts: 752 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
11:35:05 AM |
IP Logged |
|
He replaces his ball. To the spot were he thought his ball was before you hit it.
You play your ball from were it lies.
This has happened a few times. I saw a guy mark his ball, a wind gust blew, and sent his ball off the green. Since he marked his ball and the ball was in play, his next shot would be from off the green. |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
Bobby Bolin |
General Member |
|
United States of America |
| |
| Joined: 7/28/2003 |
|
B-Day: 5/5/1988 (37) |
|
Posts: 1,427 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
12:33:09 PM |
IP Logged |
|
| Yep, it's just a bad break for you... |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
jimi |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 2/24/2007 |
|
Posts: 750 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
1:05:05 PM |
IP Logged |
|
| Thanks for clearing that up, guys. It would seem silly to punish someone for what is obviously an accident - anybody who wants hit a golf ball with another golf ball out in theo pen over a distance of more than a few yards has to rely more on luck than skill, it seems to me, except of course on the green when your ball stays on the ground. I suppose that´s why they pick up their balls and mark their position before green play starts. I seem to remember reading somewhere that in the old days a player could be ´stymied´ on the green if another player´s ball got between his and the hole. |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
BladeRunnerZ |
General Member |
|
South Africa |
| |
| Joined: 11/10/2007 |
|
B-Day: 9/18/1964 (61) |
|
Posts: 253 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
3:38:55 PM |
IP Logged |
|
iv'e seen some old black and white footage when the stymie shot has come into play and the guy putting having to improvise his putt and lob it over the obstructing ball, almost like a trick shot in snooker.
There are some really weird rules in golf that sometimes just don't make sense like the raking of a bunker rule. If you have played into a bunker and your next shot also lands in a bunker you are not allowed to rake the first bunker until you have cleared the second bunker as it is deemed to have been testing the condition of the sand by raking it. Surely by playing your shot out of the bunker in the first place you have already tested the sand? |
| |
| |
|
BladeRunnerZ Signature |
|
Golf can best be defined as an endless series of tragedies obscured by the occasional miracle
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
ChadLegend |
General Member |
|
United States of America |
| |
| Joined: 7/12/2007 |
|
B-Day: 10/12/1963 (62) |
|
Posts: 262 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2009 at
4:16:27 PM |
IP Logged |
|
|
"He replaces his ball. To the spot were he thought his ball was before you hit it.
You play your ball from were it lies.
This has happened a few times. I saw a guy mark his ball, a wind gust blew, and sent his ball off the green. Since he marked his ball and the ball was in play, his next shot would be from off the green. " | I would just tell him it was already in the hole,if it was just me and him playin'....lol |
| |
| |
|
ChadLegend Signature |
|
No one ever says Its only a game when their team is winning. |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
jimi |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 2/24/2007 |
|
Posts: 750 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
6:44:25 AM |
IP Logged |
|
| Why did they outlaw the stymie shot? It sounds like it would add a lot of spice to the game, lol. |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
BladeRunnerZ |
General Member |
|
South Africa |
| |
| Joined: 11/10/2007 |
|
B-Day: 9/18/1964 (61) |
|
Posts: 253 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
9:52:36 AM |
IP Logged |
|
|
| "Why did they outlaw the stymie shot? It sounds like it would add a lot of spice to the game, lol." |
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stymie |
| |
| |
|
BladeRunnerZ Signature |
|
Golf can best be defined as an endless series of tragedies obscured by the occasional miracle
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
jimi |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 2/24/2007 |
|
Posts: 750 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
12:40:31 PM |
IP Logged |
|
Interesting bit of trivia there, Rowan. Where would we be without the internet, lol It still doesn't say why though. |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
BladeRunnerZ |
General Member |
|
South Africa |
| |
| Joined: 11/10/2007 |
|
B-Day: 9/18/1964 (61) |
|
Posts: 253 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
4:20:51 PM |
IP Logged |
|
|
| "It still doesn't say why though." |
Probably a consensus was reached that it was ungentlemanly and not entirely in the spirit of the game, who knows... lol |
| |
| |
|
BladeRunnerZ Signature |
|
Golf can best be defined as an endless series of tragedies obscured by the occasional miracle
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
jimi |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 2/24/2007 |
|
Posts: 750 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
5:07:00 PM |
IP Logged |
|
| The spirit of the game is a fleeting thing, I am learning as I am studying the history of golf. So here's a test question for connaisseurs of the history of the game: which structure is this and what's special about its location? Free styructure for a correct answer, lol. |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
ChadLegend |
General Member |
|
United States of America |
| |
| Joined: 7/12/2007 |
|
B-Day: 10/12/1963 (62) |
|
Posts: 262 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
5:39:00 PM |
IP Logged |
|
| Would that be Musselburgh Jimi!..The worlds oldest golf course! |
| |
|
|
| |
|
ChadLegend Signature |
|
No one ever says Its only a game when their team is winning. |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
jimi |
General Member |
|
Netherlands |
| |
| Joined: 2/24/2007 |
|
Posts: 750 |
| |
|
| |
| Posted: Monday, April 20, 2009 at
7:25:03 PM |
IP Logged |
|
that would indeed be it ! One free structure for you pd :) |
| |
| |
|
|
| |
|
|